Join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/CeUpmbC :parrotsailor: All tutorials available at https://chamferzone.com/

3ds to SP2

Place for anything that has to do with 3D modeling or sculpting.
vrob3l

Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:16 am

Hi guys,

I found out about this forum from tutorials on YT. I am a structural engineer and I started learning 3D modeling not for gaming purposes but more for visualisation and animation.

Apologies for registering and going straight to my problem :D

I made a model of children playground and I faced some issues while exporting it to SP2.

Also I made a model of simplest figures just for test with same results so:

1) I have a problem with importing FBXs. I got a strange UV map in SP looking like not complete and I do not have this problem when I export as OBJ.
And when I imported a 'playground' model as FBX some of the elemnts were not in place, scaled or rotated. Not having these problems with OBJ.

FBX:
fbx1.PNG
fbx1.PNG (79.89 KiB) Viewed 330 times

OBJ:
obj1.PNG
obj1.PNG (121.67 KiB) Viewed 330 times

2) Second one is hard edge. It looks like a low poly is punching through high poly model. Since yestarday I have been doing my reasarch also in this forum but nothing. Maybe you have an idea. I think the UV islands are done properly as I followed tutorials. I should mention that I used chamfer, turbosmooth and smooth groups to make my hard poly model. I doubt I made mistakes with smoothing groups as these are very simple objects.

obj2.PNG
obj2.PNG (226.43 KiB) Viewed 330 times

Please help. Regards.
Attachments
fbx1.PNG
fbx1.PNG (79.89 KiB) Viewed 331 times
Billabong

Tue Jul 03, 2018 1:13 pm

Hey vrob3l ,

From a first look, it almost looks like a smoothing issue. Do you have to use fbx? if Obj's work, why not just use them?

Can you upload a part of your high poly and low poly model? Ill see if I cant take a look at it today.

-B
vrob3l

Tue Jul 03, 2018 1:36 pm

Hi,