Join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/CeUpmbC :icon_partyparrot_top:

What does the viewport camera try to rotate around in 3ds?

Share modeling, unwrapping techniques and scripts or ask general questions (mostly related to 3Ds Max).
User avatar
siks
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Great United of Britania's Kingdom Long Live Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 184 times

Mon May 15, 2017 3:46 pm

Hey everyone.

I don't know if I'm really stupid, or if I'm somehow cursed with terrible cameras in 3ds max but I know for a fact that for the three years I've used this program I've always had problems with the camera.
I never have any idea what the camera will rotate around, I hold alt and press middle mouse to try to rotate, sometimes it rotates around the vertex/edge/poly I have selected, sometimes it rotates around the object's pivot, sometimes it rotates around the center of the scene or hell knows where. This is especially a pain in the ass when I try to model small details or with small objects, meaning if I make even the slightest rotation the camera goes hell knows where.
I've googled for this problem time and time again, and even asked on an autodesk forum with no reply. So maybe some of you pros can help me out.

I've tried using the orbit tool at the bottom right in all three modes, but it just seems to have a mind of its own, rotating around whatever it feels like. :icon_frown:
Who you callin' pinhead?
ArtStation - https://www.artstation.com/artist/siks
My 3D Work Highlights - My imgur Album

User avatar
Kanni
Site Admin
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:16 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Wed May 17, 2017 4:29 am

I've personally come to just deal with it, however, to kinda combat it, if I'm modeling in a particular area, i just select a vertice/face, and the camera will automatically become local to that selection.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
siks
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Great United of Britania's Kingdom Long Live Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 184 times

Wed May 17, 2017 7:39 am

That's pretty sad. They may not be the worst camera controls I've ever seen (I'm looking at zbrush) but still pretty annoying.
I did a bit of looking into the orbit functions and I found they do actually mostly work as intended. I think the reason I mainly thought they weren't functional because of a bug I encountered whilst skinning an object that caused the camera to orbit around the scene center no matter what.
As for the Autodesk documentation on this, it looks like 3ds 2017 has a few more features for orbit that look somewhat useful but it probably comes with more changes I don't like than I do like.
Who you callin' pinhead?
ArtStation - https://www.artstation.com/artist/siks
My 3D Work Highlights - My imgur Album

User avatar
Laggtastic
Site Admin
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:10 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 126 times

Wed May 17, 2017 11:07 am

Yep, been there with the same issue, it's something I've been wondering as well for quite some time. :icon_eek:
What I allways do is simply to focus on the part I work on, by pressing "Z" on the keyboard and that works best for me personal. :)

User avatar
Kanni
Site Admin
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:16 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Thu May 18, 2017 12:21 am

Laggtastic wrote:
Wed May 17, 2017 11:07 am
Yep, been there with the same issue, it's something I've been wondering as well for quite some time. :icon_eek:
What I allways do is simply to focus on the part I work on, by pressing "Z" on the keyboard and that works best for me personal. :)

Yeah, I might add that when stuff does come out of wack, which I've come accustomed to, and can kind of anticipate - I just hit : F, P, Z.... Front, Perspective, Zoom, and it'll put my mesh back into its bearings.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
siks
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Great United of Britania's Kingdom Long Live Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 184 times

Thu May 18, 2017 11:14 am

Haha yeah! Sounds familliar. F,P,Z... Might have to set up a macro for that.
Who you callin' pinhead?
ArtStation - https://www.artstation.com/artist/siks
My 3D Work Highlights - My imgur Album

User avatar
Chuck Wilson
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:06 pm
Location: MERICA!
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 59 times

Thu May 18, 2017 12:25 pm

Each release of Max I hope it's fixed, but no such luck. I bought one of these in hopes this would fix it http://www.3dconnexion.com/products/spa ... prise.html but no.... same problem along with a few new ones. I have had a camera bug so bad on large scenes that I end up starting a blank scene and importing everything into the new scene. You can also play around with these settings, sometimes enabling and disabling the Autofocus and zoom about will fix it. http://i.imgur.com/cjDebWz.png But like Kanni says the quick fix is F,P,Z
My SketchFab
My YouTube Channel
:icon_onfire:
Xeon 12 core W3680 @ 4Ghz Hybrid Watercooled
EVGA 1070 8GB Hybrid Watercooled
Raid 0 840 Pro's
G.SKILL Ripjaws 24GB Memory

User avatar
siks
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Great United of Britania's Kingdom Long Live Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 184 times

Thu May 18, 2017 12:31 pm

Oh nice! I never knew those settings existed, I'll check them out.
I guess I'm somewhat glad to know that I'm not mentally challenged, and that everyone else seems to have the same problem.
Who you callin' pinhead?
ArtStation - https://www.artstation.com/artist/siks
My 3D Work Highlights - My imgur Album

User avatar
Chuck Wilson
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:06 pm
Location: MERICA!
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 59 times

Thu May 18, 2017 12:37 pm

Another camera bug,, when you isolate your piece 90% of the time your camera snaps somewhere else, hit shift + z after you isolate and it will put your camera right back to where it was before you isolated.
My SketchFab
My YouTube Channel
:icon_onfire:
Xeon 12 core W3680 @ 4Ghz Hybrid Watercooled
EVGA 1070 8GB Hybrid Watercooled
Raid 0 840 Pro's
G.SKILL Ripjaws 24GB Memory

User avatar
siks
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:04 pm
Location: Great United of Britania's Kingdom Long Live Her Majesty The Queen Elizabeth II
Has thanked: 159 times
Been thanked: 184 times

Mon May 22, 2017 6:59 am

I hate starting up Max every time and have to toggle the layer explorer because I use it instead of the default scene explorer.
I hate how every time you allign a UV shell with TexTools it disables angle snapping (I guess I can't blame max for that).
I hate every time I export and FBX, max will complain about me using a checker material or a turbosmoothed mesh, until eventually I get a bug where it just fails to export and obviously I don't notice the error.
I hate how resetting Xform sometimes completely destroy's the meshes transform, and it cannot be undone.
I hate how buggy editing UV's of multiple objects at once is.
I hate how every time I start a new scene I have to re-disable shadows and enable show tris in statistics.
I hate how long max takes to shut down, and sometimes even stays in processes after it's shut down for a long while.

Don't get me started with Photoshop.
Who you callin' pinhead?
ArtStation - https://www.artstation.com/artist/siks
My 3D Work Highlights - My imgur Album

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest